Drug induced oblivion anyone?

I’m sick. Not the all day “morning sickness” of vomiting and nausea, but the ever present (and always dreaded) allergies and cold. Today I come to you from the comfort of my bed, surrounded by a plastic bag (full of used tissues, because honestly my garbage can beside my bed is full), a half empty box of Kleenex (my 3rd in as many days), chapstick, asthma inhaler, water bottle and cup of peppermint tea. Just another day in paradise. Usually in this situation (which inevitably comes twice a year at the beginning of spring and fall, hello allergies!) I would take two or three days, drug myself into an oblivion with Tylenol Cold and Flu and remain in a semi-comatose state – happily I might add. Bring pregnant and not having this luxury, I’m left to suffer through the sneezing, headaches, so stuffed up that you can neither breathe through your nose, sleep or taste any food – all without medication.

It’s been a long week, but hopefully there is a light at the end of this tunnel as I’m not sure how much longer I can stand this crapola!

sick

On a much much better note, this was the week that I was able to hear the baby’s heartbeat! At my last midwife appointment, the midwife had a hard time hearing the baby’s heartbeat (mainly because the sound of the blood rushing through the placenta was too loud – which I took as a positive sign!) so she let me come back in a week to try and use a better Doppler and see what we could hear. I’m so happy to share that the baby’s heartbeat was a strong 140 beats per minute and I was able to hear it loud and clear. Yahoo!!! With my mid-pregnancy ultrasound booked for the next couple of weeks and finding out the gender, let’s just say my Pinterest boards are going crazy! I’ve got the nursery basically picked out (only need the accent colour – gender specific of course!), put together a list of items that I’m either going to register for or that we want to pick up in the next month or two and have decided to…..cloth diaper!

Now, I know that there are people out there who are going to be downers and tell me that I crazy and I can’t use cloth diapers at night, or when I go out, or any other time outside my own house….however to all you downers I say….QUIT IT. I mean it. Keep your crappy opinions to yourself. This is something I want to do, and if I’m the one doing the extra loads of laundry and dealing with flushing poop down the toilet, that’s my choice and I don’t really want to hear negativity about it.

*end rant*

Leave a Reply

