Ugh.  That’s how I feel about my body summed up in a single word.  Just ugh.  I guess I should start with saying that I lost all my baby weight (I had only gained 20 lbs during my entire pregnancy) in the first two weeks after baby H was born.  You’d think this would be so motivating,  and it was – for about a day.  Then every time I would get geared up to do a workout, I always found something better to do.  Laundry, vacuuming, dishes,  they were all piling up.  Then add on the sleep deprivation,  there was just no way I cared about working out.  Now that it’s been almost 11 weeks and I’ve got a better routine for housework, the time has come to get my ass in gear and get healthy. I mean if all the celebrities can get their post-baby bodies back within weeks why can’t I? Maybe it’s because I don’t have a nanny to watch my child while I work out for hours a day or a chef to make sure my calorie count doesn’t go over 1200 each day. Seriously, it’s crazy the amount of pressure I feel to look “normal” again. My body stretched in ways I cannot even describe, my boobs (which were not small to begin with) are giant feeding machines and I feel like my feet will never be normal again.

stretchmarks

The hardest part for me will be working out a schedule or a time every day to be able to work out.  Baby H is not on any sort of schedule and still isn’t napping regularly (however this week has been pretty regular with a nap schedule so here’s hoping!!) so carving out time will be a challenge.  I have been going for walks when the weather has co-operated (which hasn’t been too often the past couple of weeks) which has been nice for both of us. Additionally, the app “My Fitness Pal” has been great with helping me keep track of what I’m eating, and I’ve recently discovered that you can connect the app “Map My Walk” so that whenever I log a workout there it will automatically add the cardio to my exercise tracker in My Fitness Pal. The wonder of technology! I feel like it just isn’t enough though.  Pinterest has been great with giving me ideas on workouts that I can do at home using just my body weight (let’s be real,  “just” my body weight?!), but I find that walking and hiking have become stress relievers for me. I can go alone with just the baby to clear my head and take a moment for myself, or I can go with the Hubby and dog and enjoy reconnecting with my man.

I’ll be keeping track of my progress on my blog with a series of posts over the summer entitled “Summer Shape Up”, where my goal is to lose 20 lbs by the end of August. The hope is that writing posts to share with you all will keep me motivated and most importantly accountable for my actions!

 

Summer Shape Up #1 – The Post-Baby Body Issue……

2 thoughts on “Summer Shape Up #1 – The Post-Baby Body Issue……

    • Lol well I feel a lot older than I am these days! Congratulations though that’s awesome! I don’t think I’ll be able to match that (that whole nursing every 2.5 hours thing) but I’m definitely going to try and work on it!

      Like

Leave a Reply

