Vacations, Baby Colds and Momma Meltdowns…

What a couple of weeks. Every time I sat down to start a post, Nugget would start crying, or the washer would beep, or the dog needed to get out, blah blah blah. I feel like my life is a group of blah blah blah’s lately. Cue dramatic sigh.

Anyway – moving on.

As I sit here watching a old episode of NCIS (a favourite of mine) and eating apple sauce straight from the jar (because that’s just how I roll) while Nugget whines in her swing (almost nap time, thank goodness), I’m having a hard time choosing the topic(s) of this post, we’ve done so much in the past two weeks! I suppose the best way is to get everything out there is chronologically. Heads up – this is going to be a long post!

First, we were lucky enough to spend a week in New York state with my mother-in-law at her summer house on Lake Ontario. It was amazing. The weather was fantastic, not too hot, not too cold, no humidity, lake breeze – just amazing. Hubs took out the kayak and the dog went swimming, everyone was in heaven!

This is the view from the backyard of my Mother-in-Law's summer house in New York State. Lake Ontario!

This is the view from the backyard of my Mother-in-Law’s summer house in New York State. Lake Ontario!

So originally, Chloe was swimming alongside the kayak, until the Hubs turned around and she thought he was leaving her. The poor thing freaked out and needed to be pulled onto the kayak and deeply consoled. She`s clearly a very sensitive dog.

So originally, Chloe was swimming alongside the kayak, until the Hubs turned around and she thought he was leaving her. The poor thing freaked out and needed to be pulled onto the kayak and deeply consoled. She`s clearly a very sensitive dog.

Nugget was pretty well behaved most of the time, only having one bad day and only a couple of poop blowouts! We napped outside most of the time, wore pretty outfits and floppy hats, basically just lounged most of the time. It was beyond fantastic.

We`re so fancy!

We`re so fancy!

All of the Hubs`s siblings came up and spent the weekend, and all in all it was a pretty good time. Of course with family there is always a little drama, but such is life and we managed to dance around those uncomfortable periods. I love going to NY to my mother-in-laws mainly because of the peaceful state of mind that I always get when I cross the Canadian-US border. My phone doesn`t work, I`m not concerned with Facebook, Twitter, Instagram or what is on tv. I don`t count calories or worry about how I look, it is the ultimate comfort zone, what I picture retirement will *hopefully* be. We are heading back there is a couple of weeks for another week of peace and solitude and I cannot wait…..

Moving onto the Baby Cold. This is cold number 2 for Nugget and let me tell you – this kid deals with a cold like her father. Wants to be cuddled and babied the entire time. Yes she is a baby, and yes I always cuddle her – but sick Nugget is just a little more clingy than is desirable. For the first 4 days after we came home from NY I slept on the couch with my child sleeping on my chest because she would flip her lid every time I put her down to sleep. I may have gotten a combined 6 hours of sleep that entire week. Not awesome.

Finally, Momma meltdowns. Last night was a bad one. After getting home from a very very cute tea party wedding shower (Congratulations Jesseca!!) it felt like everything was piling up on me. It was so effing hot in my house (we have a small window a/c unit for the bedrooms upstairs so that we can be a little more comfortable at night), I had diapers drying on the line outside that needed to be stuffed, laundry was in the washer, bottles that needed to be washed and formula to be made. On top of all this, Nugget chose last night to unleash her inner crazy baby – it was a looooong couple of hours before bedtime. Once Nugget went down I was able to stuff the diapers and deal with the bottles and formula, but not before I had a meltdown about the dumbest thing. Underwear. Nugget has two baskets of clean laundry in her room waiting to be put away. There are at least three baskets of clothes and towels to be put away in my closet. Not in any of these baskets could I find a pair of underwear. Not. One. Pair. That opened the floodgates. Probably not the best way to end a week, but every Mom is allowed a meltdown…..or two…..a week…….right?

Leave a Reply

