Just give it up!

It is Ash Wednesday (the beginning of Lent, the 6ish weeks before Easter symbolizing Jesus’s 40 days fasting in the desert) it is customary for those who observe the tradition to chose something to give up as an homage to the sacrifice that Jesus made during the period. Each year family and friends of mine pick something to give up, and each year I laugh at the hilarity of those people trying to keep up with their choices. From bread (I`m Italian,so obviously this one goes over really well…) to diet coke, the choices have been epic.

lent

This may have been me 10 years ago….oh to be young again!

As I’m not super religious (and the Hubs is an avid atheist) I’m not one to observe this tradition usually, however this year I’ve decided to give something up that I’ve been relying on every day for the past year without fail.

The scale.

Every morning after my bathroom routine I step on the scale. I remember what the number was yesterday and scrutinize over the difference, whether there was one or not. I’ve been using a Fitbit type product for 9 months (called a Jawbone) which tracks your steps, calories, weight and has the ability to step duel with a friend (if anyone has this app let me know, I’d love to do a duel!!) and if I don’t hit my step goal or if I get a lower step count than the day before I get irritated. Since I’m not ready to give up my Jawbone the scale is the next best thing. I’m going to do my best not to take that step each morning for the next 6 weeks, with the hope that at the end of Lent I’ll be pleasantly surprised at the result.

What are you giving up this year?

Leave a Reply

