Revival

Well hey there Lovers of Liberty……or those random few who read this lil blog of mine….howyadoin? It’s been a while! We’ve had some pretty big changes over here and the stresses of life have actually *gasp* lessened a little! Thus more time and opportunity to commit to writing down my random thoughts, diy projects and life events to share with you crazy kids! 

So what’s been going on you ask? Well, we’ve been through the ringer over the few years in terms of financials and I’m so so so happy to report that (finally) we’ve got our financial life in order. Not just in order, but in good order. It is like a 500 lb weight has been lifted off our shoulders and we are free to sing from the rooftops. Imagine, we can not only dream about renovations to our home, but actually execute them! (Posts to come showing our Master Bedroom makeover, new doors and windows and our backyard makeover!) We  replaced  every. single. door and window in our entire house and let me tell you – it’s one of the most exciting things to happen this year (and it’s a BIG year in our house). I’m so excited for windows that I can actually open and close with ease, windows that are stylish and not manufactured 30 years ago and a front door that has a wonderful half window that will bring sunshine and warmth into our home during the spring and summer months. I’m. So. Excited.

Something that also happened this year – I turned 30.

 Yep, the big dirty thirty. Most people go all out, party like it’s 1999 and don’t remember a thing. Me? I was sick. My kid was sick. My husband was sick. Even the dog was miserable. We had planned a family brunch at a local breakfast place and even that didn’t happen because we didn’t leave the house for the entire weekend. Am I upset that I didn’t do a huge blow out? Not really. In fact, I’m actually glad it didn’t happen that way. Anyone who knows me knows that I’m a homebody. I’d rather be in sweats or pjs lounging in the comfort of my own home more than anything. Also – 30 was an emotional milestone for me. We hadn’t at that point had our finances in order, everyone had been sick for 3 months straight and life was just hard. Everything at that point was stressful and I thought to myself – “Is this where I thought I’d be at 30?” Thinking back to my early twenties, I was convinced that I would be an academic, studying history and politics, writing articles for journals and spending my days in a library. Marriage and kids weren’t a priority – not to say I didn’t think I’d ever get married or have kids, but they weren’t something I was dying for. It’s almost as if once I met the hubs and we started getting serious that was all I wanted. My own little family. 30 may not be what I thought it would, but I wouldn’t trade this life for anything. There are still some days where I think “holy shit, you’re thirty, married with a kid” and freak out just a little. I think everyone is entitled to a little psychosis at major age milestones….right?! 

There’s so much more to come this year for us – I can’t wait to share it with you!! 

Leave a Reply

