Macros, Calories and Learning to Live Healthy

Dieting. We’ve all been there, most of us have been there multiple times or seem to always been in a perpetual state of hangry.

Truth.

I am no different.

I’ve learned a lot over the years; like how to read a nutrition label (who knew you had to look at the serving size?!), how my body works (protein is my friend, especially if I’m working out) and when to indulge (hello chocolate and pms!). I’ve also tried what feels like a million diets. Recently I tried the Keto diet  which is  high fat, medium protein and low carb diet. You are essentially training your body to run off of fat instead of carbs. Sounds great right?! Well to keep your body in a Ketogenic state you have to consume less than 40g of carbs and have at least 75% of your diet is fat. Let me tell you.

Carbs. Are. Everywhere.

It is SO hard to keep a carb count so low. I’m Italian and really love food, so carbs are hard to cut to begin with. Add in the things you don’t realize have carbs (a medium red delicious apple has 24g of carbs!) and it soon became apparent that the keto life was not for me.

It felt like another healthy lifestyle failure, so I kind of went on a crazy binge. I still put everything into my calorie counter  (My Fitness Pal is awesome) but didn’t care whether or not I hit my goals. You know what happened? I felt like shit. Tired, cranky, I broke out and just felt out of orbit. It’s true what “they” say, eating well really does have a positive effect on all aspects of your life! So after another evening on Pinterest looking for new healthy ideologies I think I’ve found something that is easy to maintain. It’s a 30-40-30 diet. 30% carbs, 40% protein and 30% (good) fats. Adding my new goals (with a calorie total of 1500/day) into my app I went for it. It’s been a couple of weeks and I’m feeling so much better.

Some days are great. Some days simply aren’t.  It what’s real? I’m committed to a healthy lifestyle and mastering healthy eating is just one of the ways to do that. I grew up not loving my body or caring about what I put into it. I don’t want my daughter going through life without an understanding of what it takes to live a healthy lifestyle.

What are you doing to be healthy? What are your secrets to maintaining a balanced lifestyle?

One thought on “Macros, Calories and Learning to Live Healthy

  1. i’m in the macro life with you girl! effin’ carbs. i am usually 5-10 % too high in my carbs, which is a lot. protein is almost impossible to reach but i have done it and am learning tricks to add more. a high protein shake has helped big time (currently taking ISO – SMOOTH from body systems). i love that i can have ice cream to hit my fat target. ya, not super healthy but i’m taking the “eating for my macros” approach and i if can eat ice cream and reach my target then GDI i’m doing it hahaha do you have a Y membership? i’m into weight training, let’s workout together!

    Like

Leave a Reply

